Skip to content

The Time Traveler’s Wife

August 13, 2009
A recurring moment in The Time Traveler's Wife

A recurring moment in The Time Traveler's Wife

In one day I saw four people reading The Time Traveler’s Wife on the subway. And each day after I have spotted another book or overheard a conversation. Considering I had read that books years ago, I found it strange that all of sudden the book was popping up everywhere. Then I remembered, the movie. It’s amazing how fast a movie trailer release can spur a book purchase frenzy. I always feel ahead of the game when I discover a great book and someone decides it would make a good and marketable movie in the future.

I read The Time Traveler’s Wife as a recommendation from a friend which was a stray from my usual historical fiction preference. A love story, completely fictional and somewhat fantastical, I was skeptical. But I was engrossed once I began and it was one of the few books that was able to capture my imagination and attention for longer than 30 minutes. I remember sitting on my couch reading for almost 3 hours until I just finished it because I couldn’t wait for the ending. All in all, an amazing book with an impressive and complicated storyline from first-time author Audrey Niffenegger.

Through an old article in Print magazine I learned that Audrey is an illustrator and arts professor before a novelist. She is the author of 2 illustrated novels, The Three Incestuous Sisters and The Adventuress.  She is also one of the founders of the Columbia College Center for Book and Paper Arts in Chicago where she teaches graduate students how to write, print type on letterpresses and make limited-edition books by hand. It’s so cool to learn that there is an entire university program dedicated to preserving the art of book making by teaching students historical techniques and also creating new innovations in paper art.  Barnes and Noble has a series of interesting interview questions with the author that sheds some more light on this once under-the-radar artist. Apparently, she worked on The Time Traveler’s Wife for 4 and 1/2 years and the manuscript was rejected by 20 agents before finding an agent and editor who believed in the story. We do share one thing in common; when asked to provide a list of her 10 favorite books, Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay was on her list; this too is one of my favorites!

 

The Three Incestuous Sisters

The Three Incestuous Sisters

 I tend to always prefer a book to it’s blockbuster movie version and I have a feeling this film, produced by Brad Pitt, will be the same way. I am a Rachel McAdams fan and don’t mind Eric Bana (especially funny in the new Funny People) but I predict 1 of 2 scenarios. Those who have not read the book will not get the movie to it’s full extent, and those who have, may feel like the details are missing and don’t translate on the big screen. But, I won’t judge until I see it, which probably will not be in Manhattan now that movies for 2 cost $24.50! Whoa!

Rachel looks smashing as usual at the film’s premiere at the Ziegfeld Theatre in New York City on August 12. A gorgeous drapping dress with a sexy plunging neckline and her latest wavy bob hairstyle that suits her tiny self well!

Rachel McAdams at The Time Traveler's Wife film premiere in NYC

Rachel McAdams at The Time Traveler's Wife film premiere in NYC

 I saw that Audrey is finally releasing her second novel this September, Her Fearful Symmetry . According to the synopsis, it tells of a story of American twin sisters who inherit their English aunt’s apartment in London. The girls move into the flat and discover the neighbors within the building and come to understand more about the former life of their aunt, whom they did not know very well before her death.  I don’t always seek out books from an author of a novel I liked, it was always more about that particular story than the author’s style. But The Time Traveler’s Wife was so good, that I might consider giving her second book a try.

Her Fearful Symmetry

Her Fearful Symmetry

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

