Skip to content

Rosetta Stone?

August 24, 2009

Now that my upcoming honeymoon plans to Austria and Italy are finalized, I have challenged myself to learn as much conversational Italian as I can before our trip. I won’t have time for a formal class so I will need a convenient and efficient method that I can use on my own time. Of course my first option is Rosetta Stone. We have all seen the commercials where they convince you that theirs is the most natural and effective way to learn a new language, after all, the government and Michael Phelps are advocates?!

So before I spend over $200 for Italian Level I, I would love to hear user feedback. So, if anyone has tried Rosetta Stone, please feel free to write in your experience, good or bad, as I plan to make my language learning tool purchase this week!

So far I have done an extensive search on my iPhone for FREE Italian language applications that I can use on my commute or during lunch to add to my lessons. I downloaded one on the train this morning called Italian Word of The Day. The app provides approximately 10 words per day to learn and practice. It provides the type of word (noun, verb, etc) uses it in an Italian sentence and translates the sentence into English. Then you can play a fun memorization game to help learn the word better. So far today, I learned how to say “wind”, “close”, “to start”, and “rain”.

I’ll keep you posted on my findings; please share your favorite language-learning products, word-of-mouth recommendations are the best!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 11:15 am

    being a very experienced traveler with the knowledge and conversational ability in three languages (english, polish, and german) i can tell you not to spend money on a program.

    they are simply marketing. they repackage information into an over-priced product.

    here is my suggestions. get a decent, used, second-hand copy of a university level italian book. use flashcards for word memorization (start with verbs and all their forms) and get a blank notebook to practice grammar.

    don’t worry about your pronunciation at first, rosetta stone, or any program for that matter, cannot improve your accent. only complete immersion in the language’s native land can do that.

    i still have a terrible accent in polish and i’ve lived in warsaw for six months. my german accent is acceptable, and my english one is . . . well . . . native. i’m learning russian, and well, let’s even get started on my russian accent . . . it’s terrible.

    point being, do it yourself! with the internet and a good book, you need no other resource.

    good luck!

  2. September 26, 2009 5:15 am

    I have to admit, I haven’t been keeping up with your blog. But now that I actually found time, I do have a suggestion…contact Ria! I’m sure she’d love to meet up and give you some basic conversational lessons!

Leave a Reply

