Skip to content

Kaas Glassworks

September 24, 2009

Long before I knew about John Derian, I made an impulsive purchase at a home store during my first-ever trip to Nantucket Island; well, kind-of impulsive, if you really knew me you’d know that I don’t purchase much on a whim without carefully analyzation. We choose a decorative, over-sized square plate that stood out with its bright red coral design. The style mimiced that of a scientific illustration of ocean life with its true nomenclature below in faint script. We decided to make our first home purchase as a couple as a souvenir of the destination where our relationship really began. The plate now hangs prominently in the white bathroom where the red coral really pops and temporarily lives until we find our next home. At the time we thought this plate was such a  unique find and wasn’t aware that someone actually had a legitimate brand based around creating these types of plates. Either way, we were and still are very pleased with our purchase and it led us to the discovery  of an amazing little store in the West Village.

Kaas Glassworks manufacturers handmade decoupage in paperweights and plates of all shapes, sizes and designs. This tiny store hidden on a side street and tucked into a wall filled with vines, is one of the stores that maintains the West Village’s treasure appeal. Each piece is made by hand with the use of reprints of historical and antique prints gathered from flea markets and estate sales.

Picture 12

I know that I can shop a small clothing boutique for an hour, but who knew I could stand in a tiny plate store for that long looking at each individual item, studying the detail, imagining it on my wall, and trying very carefully not to break anything. The walls are covered with plates, while browsing it seems each one can fill a perfect empty spot in every room in your home or be the perfect gift for almost anyone you know, therefore making a final selection near impossible. However, when we stumbled upon this store, it was more of a treat just to come in and enjoy the art, see what new prints there were to offer. Eventually, I was fortunate enough to receive a plate as a gift and someone else had to do the deciding for me and I know for a fact that the selection process was grueling!

Kaas 6"x12" Daisy Tray, $96

Kaas 6"x12" Daisy Tray, $96

I was so excited to hang my daisy tray but as soon as I did, it looked so lonely on the wall by itself, it needed plate partners,  a wall of plates like the store. 1 year later the word had spread that this was one of my new favorite shops and I was granted a new chance to shop. A Kaas giftcard for the holidays was a blessing and a curse. I don’t think I actually redeemed that gift card until the summer when I finally decided on a shape and design, it was terribly hard to choose, but I love my blue bird’s eggs and they complement my daisy nicely on my blue wall.

Kaas 8"x12" Waterbird Eggs Tray $142

Kaas 8"x12" Waterbird Eggs Tray $142

So I think it is obvious that these plates make nice and personal pieces for yourself and others. Sentiment, humor, color, occupation and favorite animal or destination – all cleverness and simplicity can be met with a Kaas glass plate. Here are some of my favorites:

For the Avid Traveler

For the Avid Traveler

For the Nature Lover

For the Nature Lover

For the Chef

For the Chef

For the Gardener

For the Gardener

Because you love elephants

Because you love elephants

For the Dreamer

For the Dreamer

Just Because It Looks Cool

Just Because It Looks Cool

Kaas Glassworks

117 Perry Street

New York, NY

212.366.0322

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

