Skip to content

Winter Hands

January 6, 2010

No matter how much water I drink, cashmere-lined gloves I wear or fleece pockets I bury my hands in during the winter time, dry, cracked skin seems unavoidable. So this year I am amping up my treatment routine with a more strategic and diligent approach to maintaining presentable winter hands. Aside from keeping my daily water intake as high as possible, I have tested some intense hand creams that I apply throughout the day and after washing my hands that seem to be making a big improvement on the red reflections in my poor hands. Here are my latest cream, salve and skin food recommendations for soft hands this season.

Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve

Kiehls.com $19.50

This heavy duty hand treatment is thick and really penetrates your skin. It has a plesant herbal scent and is made with botanical oils like avocado and eucalyptus. This is placed next to my keyboard at work and I apply at least twice a day after my consistent, germophobic hand-washing.

Weleda Skin Food

Usa.Weleda.com $17.00

I received this product in the 2009 Allure Best of Beauty Awards gift bag. I was familiar with the packaging but knew nothing else of the brand. It claims this is for rough and dry skin. I tested this first on my face and realized it was way too intense for that skin. So it is now the perfect solution on hands and feet after a shower before bed to let it soak in overnight. One of the unexpected ingredients is extract from the Pansy flower that is known to calm irritation. Weleda is a world-wide brand that focuses on natural and holistic products using their signature Biodynamic farming methods. They offer a range of skincare and bodycare products as well as products for mother and baby. They even have their own spas located throughout the country that I may need to investigate.

Here are the 2 new winter hand washes I have added to my bathroom and kitchen to help aid in my mission for touchable hands.

C.O. Bigelow Lemon Hand Wash

BigelowChemists.com $12.00

Intense sweet and tart scent with nourishing lemon oil. You can always depend on C.O. Bigelow for all of your toiletry needs at a reasonable price.  Also Made in the USA.

Roger and Gallet Bamboo Perfumed Cream Soap

ShopsLondon.com $18.00

Subtle, clean and fresh scent with a moisturizing cream texture. The ultimate luxury hand soap with package design to complement any decorated washroom with plesant decor and function.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bbb permalink
    January 7, 2010 7:42 am

    Now let’s talk face!

  2. January 7, 2010 10:34 am

    Yum, Lemony hand wash! I need to get this and the Kiehls for my downstairs bathroom. I have been using a combination of lotions this winter, and so far, I find layering cuticle oil from SpaRitual with a thick cream at night has been almost doing the trick…Thanks for the tips!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Winter Hands « Quiet In The Back. -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

