Skip to content

Walk and Tone

September 4, 2010

I live in New York City. In order to get to work, I walk 10 minutes to the subway station through my neighborhood. Then stand on the platform until the train arrives. Then depending on if I am on the express or local, I’m on the train for at least 8 minutes. Then I walk 1 avenue to my office and if you weren’t aware, avenues are not short. I, like many, don’t wear my work shoes to get to work, only once I arrive. So throughout the year my walk to work shoes consist of Converse, flip flops, moccasins, rain boots, clogs and hiking sneakers. Obviously there is an opportunity here to take advantage of my commute to enhance my workout routine.

When the MBTs came out, I didn’t buy into the craze, but when every fitness brand launches their own version, you have to think twice. I have done no real research and only 1 person I know owns a pair, so I want to know if these sneakers should become my commuting sneakers and work my legs when my trainer isn’t. Where is the Consumer Reports analysis on this category??

So please, if you read this, and own a pair of any brand’s version, please comment and tell me the real deal. Give me your reviews so I don’t have to browse the internet reading hundreds on Zappos and WomensHealth.com. Thank you.

If you sell me, and I buy one of the pairs I am eyeing below, I’ll be sure to share my assessment immediately and maybe throw in a thank you gift!

MBT – The Original

Maliza Brown

MBT Maliza Brown, $265

Reebok Easy Tone

Reeinspire II-Lux

Reebok EasyTone Reeinspire II Lux, $124.98

New Balance Toning

WW850

New Balance WW850, $89.99

Avia

El Moro Toner

Avia El Moro Toner, $80

Skechers Shape-Ups

Kinetix Response SRT

Skechers Shape-Ups Kinetix Response SRT, $115

One Comment leave one →
  1. M. Alex permalink
    January 7, 2012 6:54 am

    I purchased a pair of Shape-Ups SRT today and I’ve never felt so great in my life.
    Suggestions are: you should wear them 25-45min a day until you become accustumed to the energy it provides.
    They are so well thought out. The design is perfect, extra comfortable. Even when you’re standing alone, you feel the roation of the heel and the power in your heart, as it stimulates circulation.

    These shoes are VERY recommended and I assure you, you will feel the difference when you take them off for the day. I knocked out the first night I trained in them. They’re spectacular!

Leave a Reply

